Even after cancelling your Facebook account, you can’t delete Facebook Messenger? Don’t worry; simply follow these simple instructions to permanently disable the messenger. Deactivate Facebook Messenger on iPhone. In this article, we’ll take a look at how to deactivate the Facebook Messenger app on the iPhone.
Interacting with people through social media may be a lot of fun. Still, it has the potential to throw your life into disarray and draw you into the never-ending maze of networking. Taking a break from it can therefore be beneficial and is always recommended.
Many users who take a break from Facebook delete their accounts temporarily, but they may always reactivate them by checking in.
However, even after cancelling the account, Facebook does not deactivate the connected Messanger account for some reason.
People can still see you and try to contact you over Messenger, putting your digital detoxing plan in danger.
If you’re taking a break or planning to take one soon, you’ll need to know how to cancel your Messenger account individually.
Because Messenger is linked to and, in some ways, reliant on your primary Facebook account to function, you can’t delete it without also deactivating your Facebook account.
As a result, before you cancel your Messenger account, make sure your Facebook account is deactivated.
For those who don’t know how to cancel your Facebook account, here are some short instructions.
Deactivate your Facebook Account
- Tap the hamburger menu symbol (three horizontal lines) in the top right corner of your screen from the Facebook app.
- After that, scroll down and select ‘Settings & Privacy.
- Then select ‘Settings‘ from the drop-down menu.
- Then select the ‘Account Ownership and Control‘ option from the drop-down menu.
- Select ‘Deactivation and Deletion‘ from the drop-down menu.
- Then press the ‘Continue to Account Deactivation‘ option after selecting the ‘Deactivate Account‘ option.
- After that, select a reason for deactivating your account from the drop-down menu or type one in the blank box provided. Then press the ‘Continue‘ button.
- Then tap on ‘Opt-out of receiving future notifications from Facebook’ if you don’t want to receive notifications from your friends about them tagging you in photos, requests to join groups/communities, or event invitations. Finally, at the bottom section of the screen, select ‘Deactivate My Account.’
- (As you can see in the screenshot below, Facebook makes it clear that your Messenger account will not be cancelled unless you do so individually.)
- You will then be logged out of Facebook. Your Facebook account has been deactivated as a result.
Reactivate Facebook Messenger
It’s simple to reactivate your Messenger account. In actuality, it’s a simple one-step process.
Your account will be reactivated if you log in to the Messenger app using your credentials from a desktop, Android, or iPhone.
That’s all there is to it, folks. This is how to delete your Messenger account after you’ve deactivated your Facebook account so that it doesn’t interfere with your digital detox.