How to Unpair and Remove Apple Watch from your iPhone or iPad

Published:

There are instances when you’ll want to unpair and wipe your Apple Watch, such as when you’re planning to sell it, giving it to another family member, or experiencing technical difficulties with it.

When you unpair your Apple Watch, its factory settings are restored. We’ll show you how to unpair your watch using your iPhone and how to wipe it when you don’t have access to your phone in this article.

Here’s How to Unpair and Erase Apple Watch from your iPhone or iPad if you no longer use it. Also need to remove it from your iCloud account.

How to Unpair your Apple Watch from your iPhone

Unpair your Apple Watch, and it will be erased and reset to factory defaults. Your iPhone will create a backup of your watch prior to it being wiped.

If you’re planning to (re)pair the watch after it’s been unpaired, you can use that backup.

  • Remove any transit cards that are currently stored in the Wallet app on your Apple Watch.
  • Open the Watch app on your iPhone when positioned near your Apple Watch.
  • Select My Watch – if you haven’t already – at the bottom of the screen. In the upper-left corner of your screen, click All Watches.
  • To the right of your watch’s name, click the info button.

Unpair and Erase Apple Watch

  • Select Unpair Apple Watch from the menu.

Unpair and Erase Apple Watch

  • If your Apple Watch includes cellular connectivity, you must decide whether or not to keep your current cellular plan. Maintain your plan if you are going to repair your watch. If you’re selling your watch or don’t intend to pair it again, terminate your cellular plan — you may need to contact your cell carrier to do so.
  • To complete the unpairing process, touch to confirm and input your Apple ID password if requested.
  • When the unpairing is complete, your Apple Watch will display a Start Pairing notification.
See also  How to View and Edit Passwords in iCloud Keychain on iPhone

How you can Erase your Apple Watch without iPhone

If you need to delete your Apple Watch but do not have access to your iPhone, you can still do so. Without first unpairing your watch, erasing it will not remove Activation Lock. Activation Lock prevents unauthorized use of your watch.

If you do not have access to your Apple Watch but want or need to erase it remotely, see How to Erase Your Device Remotely Using Find My.

  1. Navigate to Settings > General on your watch. Select Reset at the bottom of the list.
  2. Select Erase All Content and Settings from the menu.
  3. Enter your security code.
  4. If your Apple Watch comes with a cellular plan, you’ll need to decide whether to cancel or keep it. Maintain your plan if you are going to repair your watch. If you’re selling your watch or don’t intend to pair it again, terminate your cellular plan — you may need to contact your cell carrier to do so.
  5. Now, click Erase All. Your Apple Watch’s factory settings will be restored. However, the Activation Lock will remain (see above).
Kuldeep Sathwara
Kuldeep Sathwarahttps://ifonegyaan.com/
Kuldeep is an iOS lover loves to write about the iphones ,iPad, Mac Updates, issues , Fixes and More.

Related articles

Recent articles